Skip to Main Content
Image: Building on Broadband: Inspiring Progress

Tuesday, October 12

8:30 am       Coffee and Conversation
Sign in early for networking and casual conversation with fellow attendees and conference planner

9:00             Welcome and Remarks from Senator Klobuchar
Bernadine Joselyn, Director of Public Policy & Engagement, Blandin Foundation
Session Notes and Video

9:20             For the Good of the Whole – Introductions

9:40             Digital Showcase: Closing the Opportunity Gap
A series of fast-moving presentations and demos by people from around the state and beyond who are using technology and the internet in innovative ways to improve lives and increase opportunity for all. Show, tell, and discussion. Moderated by Ann Treacy, Treacy Information Services
Session Notes and Video

  • Fostering Productive Conversations – Kendra Jo Grindle, Island Institute, Rockland, ME
  • Overcoming Broadband Gaps in Rural Minnesota Communities – Edward Hilbrich, Libraries Without Borders, Washington DC
  • Sustainably Sourcing Digital Literacy Skill Services – Joe Miller, Literacy Minnesota, St. Paul, MN
  • Region Nine Tele Mental Health Portal – Kristian Braekkan and Alejandra Bejarano, Region Nine Development Commission, Mankato, MN
  • Smart Cities and Streaming Television – Abraham Levine, Brainware Partners, Minneapolis, MN

10:45         Discussion

11:00         What? Regional Gatherings Report Out: What are our greatest opportunities for improving broadband access and adoption in rural Minnesota?
Rural leaders from all corners of Minnesota will offer snapshots of their region’s broadband successes and opportunities, drawing on input heard at eight regional broadband gatherings held across the state in September and October. Moderated by Bernadine Joselyn, Blandin Foundation
Session Notes and Video

  • Jennifer Olson, Northwest RDC & Antonio Franklin, Headwaters RDC – Northwest & Headwaters: Regions 1, 2
  • Amber Lewis, Lead for MN Fellow, Northspan – Arrowhead: Region 3 minus Aitkin County
  • Greg Wagner, West Central Initiative Foundation – West Central: Region 4
  • Dawn Espe, Region Five Development Commission – North Central: Region 5
  • Michelle Marotzke, Mid-Minnesota Development Commission – Upper MN Valley, Mid-Minnesota, and Southwest: Regions 6W, 6E, 8
  • Lezlie Sauter, Pine County EDA – East Central: Region 7E plus Aitkin County
  • Amanda Othoudt, Benton Economic Partnership – Central: Region 7W
  • Brenda Johnson, Southeastern MN League of Municipalities – Southeast & South Central: Regions 9, 10

11:55         Update on the American Rescue Plan Act’s Capital Projects Fund
Diane Wells, MN DEED Office of Broadband Development
Session Notes and Video

12:30 pm   Adjourn

Annual Conference 2021
arrow icon pointing up Back to Top